• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Threatened at work

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

WilliamReuben

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas

I'm a nurse, working in pediatric intensive care. Last Friday, I relieved another nurse for lunch, assuming care of her patient. While providing some urgent care to the child, the child's family threatened me with physical violence and death.

I immediately informed my supervisor, as my manager wasn't available, and the doctor in the unit. The doctor wanted to go in and "lay down the law" with the family about appropriate communication with the staff, but some how it was decided to allow this family therapist (who has worked with the family previously to deal with the stress of their child's illness) to address the concerns.

This therapist discussed her strategy with me, telling me it's important to be "gentle" with these people and that this family always gets "ornery" when the child has a bad day. She said she was going to "go in the backdoor" to reach them and tell them that it's ok to be mad and stressed, but that the "guy talk" is too much for the "young ladies" who work here. I was upset by this approach (actually I think it was total BS - it wasn't "guy talk" and would have been threatening no matter how old/young I was) and told my supervisor that I will not continue to work in a place that allows families to threaten me. So my supervisor went with the therapist, but all that was said by her was that gun talk isn't appropriate in this environment.