• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unauthorized harassment claim

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

peteypanda

I work in the medical field and during a busy day, I had been ill all day with a migraine. I was verbally abused by a co-worker one hour before my shift was up. I became ill from the stress and migraine and left work. I wanted to separate myself quickly from that co-worker and the situation so I did not confront my boss personally to tell her I was leaving. I sent a text to her, my other supervisor, and the lead nurse telling them of my medical issue. I was asked to write an email explaining what happened. I told them how I had been verbally harassed by a co-worker, gave them the name of that co-worker, and explained that the migraine and stress caused me to become ill and I had to leave as quickly as possible before it came to a point I couldn't drive. I was written up for leaving and my bosses filed a harassment claim with HR against said co-worker. I did not ever imply, ask, or intend to file a harassment claim. Due to religious beliefs, I cannot formally make a complaint or conflict with any person(s). My bosses informed me that this file will result in an "interactive process." Because I did not ask for the claim to be filed and due to religious convictions, I cannot participate. Also, as an unmarried female in my church, making a claim such as that against a male, and if it was ever found out, would leave me disowned. What legal right do I have to excuse myself from any participation? I feel like they are forcing me to comply with the complaint they filed. The harassment incident was only to explain why I left work and it was a private email to 2 superv