• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Uncomfortable at work...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

howboutdat

What is the name of your state? Michigan

I am a manager in a restaurant. I made the mistake of hiring a guy to work two days per week as a bartender who is a lawyer for his full-time job. A labor lawyer, no less. I wasn't thinking. Turns out, he isn't the best employee. My company has a handbook. In this handbook, there are A violations, which are offenses that can result in immediate termination. Examples of A violations are theft, coming to work intoxicated, and improper treatment of co-workers, supervisors and guests. B Violations are issues that will require a process before terminating the employee, such as being late for work, poor work performance, etc.