• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unfair

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

P

POTA

What is the name of your state? New York

I have been working for the past 181/2 years in the same department /job title and reporting to the Director.
In 2000 our department had a reorganization and I was informed that my job was going to be eliminated. So I applied for a job at the same level as the one I had. I did not get the job although I was better qualified for the position.

I was told that I did not get the job because our dept. found a need to keep that position opened. At the time the entire department got a salary adjustment(increase) with the exception of myself. I received mine two years later after much hassle.
Also since the department reorg our director has discussed changing the job title of my position while the VP of the department promised me that the job tile as is.

In August of 2002 our director had a staff meeting and presented a new organization structure that only affected my position, changing my job title and reporting status. I will no longer be reporting to the director but now to a manager of my same level.
The director informed the staff that I had agreed of this in year 2000 which I had not.
I met with the VP, Executives Dir. my Director and asked them what did I do to get a demotion and I was informed that this is not a demotion only a change of reporting status and title.

I'm afraid when this goes through I will not be on the same level as I had and my salary may decrease or my opportunity for salary increases will not be the same.