• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Unfair Treatment - Texas

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

TXlegaladmin

I work as an Administrative Assistant for an in-house law department in Texas.

Three years ago in this position, I was forced to fill in for a Legal Assistant’s position while she was out on maternity leave for several months, with NO training, while I was expected to continue my full time responsibilities as an Admin. I was extremely stressed but my employer would not hire temporary help. This happened a second time with the other Legal Assistant while she was on extended medical leave for several weeks. I was not given a raise or compensated for doing the work of two employee positions (one at a higher rank than mine). The third and most recent time was while the Legal Asst. had a second child, and I was expected to train a temporary person to do my job (that I was there to do and in my “spare time”) while I did the Legal Assistant’s work! -– still without training. I was made to answer interrogatories for which my supervisor, and Senior Counsel, refused to help me answer.