• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

California minor concerned about drinking and academics

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Stutz

Hi,
I am a 16 year old living in the state of California and had a question which I was hoping someone could answer. I am considering attending High School parties which have alcohol at them and was intending to drink as well. Should i get caught, would this have any negative effects on my academic career(I am a straight A student planning on attending a good college). Thank you for the information in advance.

quincy

Yes, it could have an affect on your academic career.

Several high school seniors here in Michigan, who were honor students and pre-accepted to prestigious universities (University of Michigan, Princeton, Notre Dame), had their admissions cancelled because they were arrested for underage drinking at a senior party.

Committing a crime is never a great idea. Save your drinking for when you are legally able to drink (and avoid all parties where minors will be drinking).

CdwJava

There are legal repercussions to underage drinking ... and, of course, the very risky end which includes putting your life and others at risk when you engage in this activity.

However, I seriously doubt that you will really care what a group of anonymous adults on a legal chat board have to say and you will - in the end- go to the parties if you want to. The repercussions likely seem too remote to have too great an impact on your decision making process.

- Carl

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
This kid sounds like one of mine. Very booksmart - but little common sense :(

xylene

Hi,