• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

can i move out of my parents home?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

NatashleyE

I live in new york state I am currently 16 years old. I live with both of my parents, I am a straight a student on honor roll and take college courses on top of my high school work. I also have a job I work at least 15 hours a week. My best friend also had a job and is 16. Her father has a house that he says we can rent from his for 600. At my home, I provide for myself I pay my phone bill buy all my clothing and buy food for myself. Is it possible my parents can try to make me stay or will a judge allow me to rent as long as I keep my job and stay in school? Thanks much!

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
I live in new york state I am currently 16 years old. I live with both of my parents, I am a straight a student on honor roll and take college courses on top of my high school work. I also have a job I work at least 15 hours a week. My best friend also had a job and is 16. Her father has a house that he says we can rent from his for 600. At my home, I provide for myself I pay my phone bill buy all my clothing and buy food for myself. Is it possible my parents can try to make me stay or will a judge allow me to rent as long as I keep my job and stay in school? Thanks much!
No, you will continue to live where your parents say.

Ohiogal

Queen Bee