• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Emancipation of a minor

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Katherin98

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California
I am a teen mom (17) and I no longer live with my mom, nor do I have any contact with her. I am a full time student and I do no work. I would like te be emancipated and be able to manage my legal documents. As I mentioned above, I don't havailable any contact with my mom, she cut contact with me and is in possession of all my legal documents. I gave tried calling and texting to ask for them but she ignores me. I don't have any type of identification other than school id. I would like to know if in my situation, I would be eligible for emancipation even if do not work?

Proserpina

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California
I am a teen mom (17) and I no longer live with my mom, nor do I have any contact with her. I am a full time student and I do no work. I would like te be emancipated and be able to manage my legal documents. As I mentioned above, I don't havailable any contact with my mom, she cut contact with me and is in possession of all my legal documents. I gave tried calling and texting to ask for them but she ignores me. I don't have any type of identification other than school id. I would like to know if in my situation, I would be eligible for emancipation even if do not work?
Where do you live, and how are you supporting yourself and your child?

cbg

I'm a Northern Girl
The issue is not whether or not you work. The issue is whether or not you, without assistance from anyone, are able to support yourself and your child.