• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Emancipation/moving out at 17 in Louisiana

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

choppastyle

LouisianaWhat is the name of your state?

Okay, here is my case:

i am a 17 year old female from new orleans. i am in dire need of being emancipated from my overbearing, mentally abusive mother. i haven't graduated yet, but i could if i wanted to; i have enough credits and the gpa to receive state funding (TOPS) even if i graduated early.

there are several reasons i wish to move out and i was wondering which ones would have the most effect if i ever went to court for emancipation. she smokes marijuana and cigarettes (even when friends come over), lets her boyfriend who lives with us tell me things like i "will never amount to anything" and just things like that hurt me emotionally and mentally, is making me go to a school that makes me miserable to the point of almost suicide (it's a residential high school in a backwards town in LA), and constantly abuses me emotionally for my 'preference' in guys...i.e. calling me a '****** lover' and bringing up the fact that my father (who died 3 years ago) would never approve...