• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Fake ID charge...

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cc644622

What is the name of your state? California

Last night I was charged with possession of a Fake ID (Code was listed as "BP25661 - Fake ID"). This is the first time I've ever cited for something (I don't even have as much as a parking ticket on my record, heck I never even had a detention in high school). I'm a college student and I'm scared out of my mind about this mainly because of my record... will I be able to speak with the police and arrange something with them that will keep my record clean? Also, on the top of the citation, the officer checked the box "Non-Traffic" not the "Misdemeanor" box, but later down the form it asks the officer to circle either M (for misdemeanor) or I (for infraction) and he circled M... so, is it a misdemeanor or not?

Please help, I'm greatly concerned about my record because having activity will put me at a severe disadvantage in getting the jobs I wish to pursue after college. I have never been in a situation like this and have no idea how to go about it. Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

stealth2

Under the Radar Member
Please help, I'm greatly concerned about my record because having activity will put me at a severe disadvantage in getting the jobs I wish to pursue after college. I have never been in a situation like this and have no idea how to go about it. Thanks in advance.
Might have been something to consider before breaking the law, eh?

CdwJava

This is technically a misdemeanor, but can often be treated as an infraction in traffic court. I'm not sure how it works in whatever county you might be in.