• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Legality of putting a juvenile's face on news.

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

meandmyself3492

Okay, I am a seventeen year old resident of Florida. Almost two years ago, I was arrested for grand theft auto, and the news plastered my name and face all over their five o'clock segment. I was not charged as an adult for my crime, and I went straight to the local juvenile detention center after my arrest and fingerprinting. I ultimately did twenty months in a juvenile program for all my crimes, but none of these were ever of the adult system.

Was this legal? I've always been told that to put the face of an underage offender on the news was against the law. On other cases the news even stated that they couldn't release the name of the youth because HE WAS UNDER EIGHTEEN. I was only fifteen years old, a sophomore in high school, and it ruined my reputation around town, to such an extent that getting a job is almost impossible because, invariably, there is someone that works there who went to school with me and recognizes me.

Basically, what I'm trying to ask is: Do I have any grounds to sue?

Isis1

Okay, I am a seventeen year old resident of Florida. Almost two years ago, I was arrested for grand theft auto, and the news plastered my name and face all over their five o'clock segment. I was not charged as an adult for my crime, and I went straight to the local juvenile detention center after my arrest and fingerprinting. I ultimately did twenty months in a juvenile program for all my crimes, but none of these were ever of the adult system.