• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Male turning twenty, Female turning sixteen

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Status
Not open for further replies.

MinuitOmbre

Name of State is California.

I recently got together with with a guy that I knew in highschool, freshman year. He was a senior, I was a freshman. I kept in touch with him two years by text as just friends. It's currently summer but I'll be a junior. This summer, he asked me to be his girlfriend and we've been dating for about a month now. My mom knows and he's my first boyfriend. She's upset with his age and while is still fairly normal with me besides talking about how she dislikes the age difference which I can understand. She also says that us dating or having a relationship is against the law and feels that she's breaking the law by not splitting us up right away.

We haven't done anything more than kiss. He's nineteen turning twenty in September and I'm fifteen turning sixteen, also in September. He's very polite and respectful to my mom as well as me. I can understand that she feels this relationship is not a... good thing? But what I was wondering, is if we are allowed to have a relationship or is it illegal? I've read some other similar questions but that was eighteen year olds with 15/16. I was also wondering if kissing is okay or if there's supposed to be like... no contact whatsoever besides say, hugs or handholding? We both understand the underage sex law and to wait till I'm eighteen. Is two years really that far away? Anywho, if someone could perhaps answer this I'd be really greatful...

Antigone*

Name of State is California.