• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Miranda rights in school....

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Matt1212

I am a high school student in Michigan. Earlier this week I was removed from class to be questioned concerning a criminal case. Upon arriving at the school police officer's office, the door was shut and a detective said "I am not placing you under arrest" multiple times and proceeded with questioning me without telling me that I didn't have to talk to them. My mother was present, but she was also not told of any rights. I was under the impression that, because I got called down to the office, I felt that leaving would be like walking out of the principal's office and that I would face punishment. I gave up potentially incriminating information, but later realized that this may have been a violation of my rights.
"I am not placing you under arrest" is hardly similar to the Supreme Court's ruling in Miranda v. Arizona that "The person in custody must, prior to interrogation, be clearly informed that he has the right to remain silent, and that anything he says will be used against him in court; he must be clearly informed that he has the right to consult with an attorney and to have that attorney present during interrogation, and that, if he is indigent, an attorney will be provided at no cost to represent him." While by saying that I was not under arrest may mean that I was not "in custody", I felt like I was in the school's custody, unable to leave during questioning.

Could I pursue this as potential breach of rights to have anything I said thrown out or am I out of luck?

seniorjudge