• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

What happens to a minor for committing petty theft for the 2nd offense?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

kaydee94

CALIFORNIA

9 months ago, I shoplifted at Macy's. I was caught and received a citation from the cops, but then I received a letter in the mail dismissing it, warning me to be a good citizen and such. Fast forward, and I completely acted stupid and shoplifted about $140 from another store. Same thing happened again, cops came, etc. I feel so sorry for what I did. I was so stupid; I didn't even need the things I attempted to take. I'm also a good student and I never really cause any problems. The question is.. what is going to happen to me? Will I go on probation?

sandyclaus

CALIFORNIA

9 months ago, I shoplifted at Macy's. I was caught and received a citation from the cops, but then I received a letter in the mail dismissing it, warning me to be a good citizen and such. Fast forward, and I completely acted stupid and shoplifted about $140 from another store. Same thing happened again, cops came, etc. I feel so sorry for what I did. I was so stupid; I didn't even need the things I attempted to take. I'm also a good student and I never really cause any problems. The question is.. what is going to happen to me? Will I go on probation?
You say you are a good student, but that's a lie, because clearly you did not learn your lesson nor seize the opportunity you were given before. Since you figured you got away with it and had no consequences, you did it again. And you WILL do it again after this unless the prosecutor proceeds with conviction and gives you penalties that are going to hurt.