• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Am I considered a tenant?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

CTAT333

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Texas

I am trying to find out what the laws in Texas are pertaining to extended stay hotels. My husband and I have been a resident of Budget Suites in TX for over 3 years. We no longer pay the hotel occupancy tax, our mailing address is the Budget Suites address with our room number, and our address on our drivers license's show the Budget Suites address.

I want to know if, because we are considered permanent residents, are we tenants under the law, and if so, are we protected under the Texas Tenant Laws?

Right now, we pay our rent on a weekly basis, but in the past we were paying rent for every 2 weeks. We have resided in 2 different rooms. The first room we were in was a 1 bedroom, and we were in that room for almost 2 1/2 years. We moved to a 2 bedroom on the same property, and have now been in this room for almost 6 months. When we moved rooms, there was no lapse in rent payment.

Thank you for any and all comments!!!

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney

I am trying to find out what the laws in Texas are pertaining to extended stay hotels. My husband and I have been a resident of Budget Suites in TX for over 3 years. We no longer pay the hotel occupancy tax, our mailing address is the Budget Suites address with our room number, and our address on our drivers license's show the Budget Suites address.

I want to know if, because we are considered permanent residents, are we tenants under the law, and if so, are we protected under the Texas Tenant Laws?