• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Bills included in rent but landlord wont pay!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

girl_student

I live in a one bedroom flat which is student accommodation. My rent has been fully paid up front which includes my bills. I have been receiving bills for electricity to my address since August 2005 and have been taking them to my landlord since then (which is very out of my way so annoying in itself!). I requested they change the bill delievery address and they said they would but haven't. I am now receiving debt collectors letters saying they will come into my property and take items to the value of the bill if i do not have the cash! But it is my landlord who owes the money not me! I am a 20 year old girl, im quite small and timid and very scared. Please tell me what i can do??!

HappyHusband

girl_student said:
I live in a one bedroom flat which is student accommodation. My rent has been fully paid up front which includes my bills. I have been receiving bills for electricity to my address since August 2005 and have been taking them to my landlord since then (which is very out of my way so annoying in itself!). I requested they change the bill delievery address and they said they would but haven't. I am now receiving debt collectors letters saying they will come into my property and take items to the value of the bill if i do not have the cash! But it is my landlord who owes the money not me! I am a 20 year old girl, im quite small and timid and very scared. Please tell me what i can do??!
First, tell us the name of the US state in which this is occuring.
Then, you'll probably need to pay the bills and then sue the LL in small claims.