• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

California property abandonment

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

drmarkan

I was wondering if you may be able to give me a little advice? I live in California and a roommate of mine moved out in the middle of May. She left some stuff at the house, and after speaking with her several times on the phone as well as text messaging her with replies from her, she still has not come to get the stuff. Do I have to hold the stuff. A little background to my situation follows. My parents own the house, but I am in charge of getting roommates. So I am not technically the landlord because we all pay rent to them. I do want to handle this matter myself though because my roommates and I are the ones that have to put up with her stuff taking up space in the garage. I really appreciate any information you can give me, or if there is anyone else out there that can help I'd appreciate it.

drmarkan

Thank you for the advice on starting a new thread. I would not mean to hi jack someone elses thread. I appreciate any help you can give me on the above issue.

ENASNI

OTay

THis is what I found on the law
http://www.dca.ca.gov/legal/lt-5.html

What your PARENTS have to do... is up to them

Good luck.. did you delete the other post.. no matter that was a dead thread anyway... post back if that info has any other questions. there is a CA lawyer here. He is harsh but he knows the law.. Good luck!

drmarkan

Thanks for the link. It helped somewhat. The problem is that I have talked to the tenant on a number of occasions, and she keeps saying she is going to pick the stuff up, and then she just doesn't show. It can get frustrating.

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE