• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can I break my lease legally?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

jeannemariahunt

I live in NC. I have a two year lease. Our home was broken into a couple of months ago and just last week, someone stole things off our front porch from fed ex. Can I break this lease to get out of here? I'm still new to the city so I didn't realize the neighborhood when I got here. Does anyone know what I can do?

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
Of course you can break the lease legally. And, due to you breaking the lease, your (soon-to-be) former landlord can charge you anything that is allowed by law and by your lease agreement.

Zigner

Senior Member, Non-Attorney
Ok - sorry for being so "round-about".
The items you mentioned are not, generally, enough reason to break a lease.

justalayman

a "home made" lease does not mean it is not binding. If it conforms to whatever your state requires to be a lease, it is just as legal as one written by a lawyer.

If you break your lease, you can be held for the full payment of the lease (the rent for the rest of its term) as long as the LL follows the requirements of the law in re-renting and such.

ncpropmgr

Actually a LL in North Carolina is prohibited to discussing a lease break in the contract. The contract after all is a contract for a predetermined amount of time (dates or MTM). Ask your LL about breaking the lease...some of us out there are reasonable and will give you options! Good luck...

Future: check out crime statistics or buy a shotgun!

ecmst12