• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

in danger of being "evicted" by parent?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

joey-o

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NJ

I'm a 22-yr-old college graduate, living at home with my parents while I search for full-time employment. My mother and father both own the house equally.

Lately, my mother been threatening to essentially kick me out; my father, however, does not want that to happen and has been fighting her on the issue frequently. My question is, since one owner of the house does not wish to evict me, can the other owner still force me to leave?

Thanks in advance for any insight.

Baranov

These are your parents. Stop doing whatever it is that you are doing and your Mom will stop trying to get rid of you.

Who's Liable?

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NJ

I'm a 22-yr-old college graduate, living at home with my parents while I search for full-time employment. My mother and father both own the house equally.

Lately, my mother been threatening to essentially kick me out; my father, however, does not want that to happen and has been fighting her on the issue frequently. My question is, since one owner of the house does not wish to evict me, can the other owner still force me to leave?

Thanks in advance for any insight.
Technically .... no...

They BOTH would have to PROPERLY serve you notice to vacate...

alex468

Is this a family issue or a legal issue and do you want it to be one or the other?