• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Drugs, Alcohol, and I don't want any of it

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

knokep

What is the name of your state? Oregon

I'm a college student and as half of us seem to do, I have serious problems.

Here's the bad news, Naive as I was I signed a one year lease that will not be up until the end of July.

My roommates are horrible, dirty, loud, and just plain rude.

I realize that there is no easy way to break my lease, but I'm trying to figure out if there are any ways to get out of it.

Here are the issues, my roommates drink just about every weekend and smoke pot daily. I'm not of drinking age and don't, and deffinetly don't smoke pot. One of them is also not 21.
During periods of being drunk my room mates have begun to break things in our house, scratch the wood floor, and break chunks out of the wall. They are so destructive and out of control I do not feel safe when I am in the house and fear for the safty of my property when I am away.
The pot issue is also starting to be a problem. At first I had the attitude of do your own thing, just don't bother me with it. Now the smell of the smoke often ends up in my room and they refuse to at least open a window.

now the questions
1) how bad does an eviction effect you? Is there such thing as renters credit? (I feel like I could get us all evicted if i were to tell my land lord about the pot
2) how should I tell the land lord about the damage, if I document(take pictures) can I still get my whole depost back?