• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Evict a Lodger in Private Res California

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

bch221

What is the name of your state? CA

I found a civil code (California Civil Code Section 1946.5b) that says if a single lodger in a private residence refuses to leave after the 30 day notice expires then the owner can call law enforcement out to have them removed for trespassing.

I have been a long term resident renting a house with a written agreement with the owner. I have permission to sublet a room. So in this case I am the owner/landlord to my subtenants.

I have decided to end the short term (3 months) verbal agreement to rent a room to a lodger. I have issued a written 30 day notice expiring at the end of this month. The lodger insist that CA law allows him 60 days giving him until the end of December.

Can I use the "lodger law" from above and have law enforcement remove him, or do I have to go through the formal eviction process? Or is there another way to do this? (see California Civil Code Section 1946.5d)

JETX

I have permission to sublet a room. So in this case I am the owner/landlord to my subtenants.
Do you have "a right of access to all areas of the dwelling unit occupied by the lodger and has overall control of the dwelling unit."??
For example, does your written agreement SPECIFICALLY mention their room and their right to it?? If so, then you can't use the 'periodic lodger' provision.

I have decided to end the short term (3 months) verbal agreement to rent a room to a lodger. I have issued a written 30 day notice expiring at the end of this month. The lodger insist that CA law allows him 60 days giving him until the end of December.