• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

evicting roommate not on lease

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Stash

OH My roommate moved in with me in 2003 in an apartment I have been leasing since 1999. He never signed the lease though the landlady does accept his checks for half of the rent instead of him paying me every month. He was jobless and without transportation and I let him move in as I live within walking distances of many places of potential employment for him. The utilities are all in my name. Recently he lost his copies of the mailkey and needed me to make copies of mine for him. (We share the box) He became annoyed when I wouldn't just hand the key over to him especially as it was the last one. I continued to get his mail for him until I could find time to get his copies made. Several days later my mailbox key would not work. Though he denied it, I found out at the post office he had been there, reported the keys "lost" and they made new ones, rendering mine obsolete. He then proceeded to "hold" my mail and tell me he would get around to getting me a copy when he could. Obviously I went thru the ceiling as the mailkeys are my property and were provided to me when I signed the lease in 1999. As I said, he is not on it and I want him out, now. I have given him written notice explaining in detail why and sent a copy to the landlady. I have also put a hold on my mail and applied for a postage box. I have given him 45 days notice though I think he may try and stay there as our landlady is quite old (though sharp for 90!) and her attitude may just be: "handle it." The other night while confronting him it got quite physical and I literally through him out the door. I