Need information about the Florida eviction process.
I have four more months left on my lease. My roommate moved out and I released him from the lease. I have lost my job but am actively seeking a new one. I have asked my brother to lend me the money to tie me over and have notified the apartment management that my rent would be late and that I would pay the late fee assessed. They told me that the late fee was $75 and that, along with the rent, it is to be paid by money order, although I have never been late before nor have I bounced any checks. The management also informed me that if rent is not paid in full by May 8th, a notice to vacate will be posted on my door.
Are they not supposed to give me a reasonable amount of time to remedy the situation under Florida landlord/tenant law? And what is a reasonable amount of time in the eyes of the law? Is it only 8 days?
If I make a partial payment would it show good faith? Can it be refused?
What may I do to delay an eviction process until I am able to solve my cash flow situation?
Please help me. Believe me, it is appreciated!