• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Help for a tenant turned squatter

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mweedia

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? California.

I would like advice on how best to leave my current residence under illicit circumstances.

I am a student in a college town. I signed a month-to-month agreement for a studio apartment and lived for about 18 months without any issues. At the end of that time I was leaving to study abroad, so I called my landlord and gave 60 days notice via a message left on their voicemail. I wanted to send a written letter, but I didn't know what the procedure was and whether it had to be notarized or if anything else was involved, so in my message I asked them to call me back and advise me on what to do. I never heard from them.

I had paid my first and last month's rent when I moved in, as well as a security deposit. When I only had a month left and still hadn't heard back, I tried calling them again several times to inquire about a walkthrough inspection and the return of my deposit. Still no contact back. I became really busy with final exams and preparing to leave the country, so I just decided to give up the security deposit. I also decided to leave some furniture behind. Since the landlord was keeping my deposit, I figured they could pay to have the furniture removed. Since the landlord never contacted me back, I also did not return the keys.