• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

How long can a tenant stay without paying rent?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mr manager

What is the name of your state? Ca

I am a manager of a building took a tenant with bad credit but took a 3,000 dollar security deposit and although paying a week late the first two months of the lease, she now has not paid for two months and we gave her a 3 day notice to quit then after still not paying we served her court papers. Her attitude is well you give a me a signed paper saying we will drop this case or I will not give you the keys and the remote control. She obviously is not worried cause her credit is already messed up but she has no idea that we are going to get a judgement against her and really screw her credit up for 9 years. She said if you dont give me that paper that releases me i will stay in the apartment for the next six months.

My question is how long can she legally stay in this apartment without paying rent???? Thank you in advance!

BL

She can't without paying rent . Evict her , and change the locks .

Make sure you follow the rules of Laws .

Last edited:

FarmerJ