• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

I'm Disabled, Renting and the house I am in is a Disaster!

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

joeyinpa

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? PA

Hi All,
This is my very first time posting as I just joined looking for suggestions or advice. I am physically disabled as well as having a multitude of other health problems, such as COPD.

I moved into the house I am in almost 9 years ago. They're were several things that were obviously needed at that time, but the Landlord promised he would take care of all in a very timely manner.
It's now been almost 9 years, and I am afraid the house is making me sicker. The LL has been promising, year after year, to replace the roof, as it leaks, has shingles that fly off during any rain or thunder storm. But still, he hasn't anything, including the roof. This past Spring, he did have a "Handy-Man" come in and proceed to put plastic underneath the roof, in our attic, from one end to the other.

Since doing the "plastic job", the rain now collects in the plastic, then runs down the walls,, creates mold, and equally as bad, the walls AND ceilings are beginning to crack, and in major form. In one of the rooms, if you simply touch the ceiling with a finger, plaster falls everywhere.

I saw my Primary Doctor a few days ago and asked if he would write a letter advising me to move. After telling him of the environment, he did so willingly and emphatically; stating that my COPD has gotten significantly worse just in the past 6 months alone.

Being on Social Security is the reason I haven't already moved. But, I am wondering what else I could do, if anything.