• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

kicking out a roommate not on the lease

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

test

What is the name of your state? NY

I did a little reading on the NY laws after searching through this site and couldn't seem to find any real legal advice for my situation. I have a couple questions, but first here's my situation.

I have been renting a loft in Brooklyn for over 2 years. In Oct. of 2005 I decided to put an ad out in search for a new roommate. I got one and all seemed to be good. However, the last months have gotten ugly (for reasons I won't get into now), and today seemed to come close to throwing blows. I need this guy out of my place. He is not on the lease, he's just renting a room from me, paying cash from deposit until now (month-to-month). He's refusing to leave and appears to feel as if he has as much right to be here as I do.

Looking over the tenant/landlord laws, looks like a landlord can not force a tenant out accept through legal channels, ie: win a court eviction case against the tenant.

My question is, do those same laws still apply to me? I'm not the landlord of the building, just the name on the lease for this apt. He's renting the room from me.

Can I change the locks and put his stuff out in the hallway or maybe in a storage unit while he is at work? He's already starting to get violent, but has not laid a hand on me yet.

Can I call the police and have him removed since he's not on any lease agreement?

Please advise. Thanks.

justalayman

My question is, do those same laws still apply to me? I'm not the landlord of the building, just the name on the lease for this apt. He's renting the room from me.