+ Reply to Thread
    jkent135 is offline Junior Member

land lord not responding, want to get out of lease

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? new york

I am a student and rent an apartment with 2 of my friends, in my lease it says utilities included. Some of the utilities it mentions are cable and security system. We have been paying rent since june and do not have access to either. I have called my landlord numerous times and he says he is coming but never does. Also there are plumbing problems iwth loose pipes and clearly there are leaks int eh ceiling when it rains. what should i do? can i get out of my lease? should i sue? how do i go about doing those things?
    Who's Liable? is offline Senior Member
    Stop calling and send letters via CRR. This creates a paper trail as well as formally puts the LL on notice.

Inform LL in the letter of what is included in the fees and that you don't have access to either. Inform LL you either need access or a deduction in rent of the value of said services.

Inform LL of the leaks as well as any plumbing problems. Also inform LL failure to act on his part may result in the local building inspection paying a visit.
    thank you for your help, one more question though could i ask for a reduction in rent regardless of whether he repairs it or not because i've already paid four months and didn't receieve the service? and should i withhold rent?
    Who's Liable? is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by jkent135 View Post
    thank you for your help, one more question though could i ask for a reduction in rent regardless of whether he repairs it or not because i've already paid four months and didn't receieve the service? and should i withhold rent?
    I wouldn't ask, I would demand it.

You can't withhold at this point becuase you don't know what their response is going to be.
    Hot Topic is offline Senior Member