• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Landlord Breaking Lease?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

TyLex

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? South Carolina

I have been renting my current house for over 2 years. The first year was on a lease, the second was month-to-month, and I signed a new lease in August when my rent was increased. The owners have gotten jobs in the area and decided to move into my house, so this morning they gave me notice that I needed to be out of the house by February 1st, even though the lease is not up until August. I have always paid rent on time, there have been no issues with the house and I abide by all Homeowners Association rules. I have even allowed the owners to visit on numerous weekends to enjoy a "free" vacation. The only reason they want me out is so that they can move to SC. My question is this: can they really require me to move 6 months before the lease is up when I have followed all of the rules? I know the lease protects the landlord, but what about the tenant? I can't find anything in my lease that states that they can terminate the lease for any reason except non-payment or gross negligence. Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Try looking at Rentlaw.com

and googling tenant/landlord laws.

What I could find states they can't do that to you, but that's just what I found.

Also call around to see if any real estate lawyers give free consultations.

this is what I found so far

contact your local government—many cities have a department of consumer affairs or housing department to help you

if your rent is subsidized, check whether the subsidy program will help (Section 8 or other local social service agency)