• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Landlord has not returned my deposit and will not return my calls

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

anj89

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Alaska

I'm a travel nurse and found housing in the area I'd be working before actually flying out here. I sent a $500 deposit via Western Union to the manager of the hostel I'd be staying at (that should have been my first red flag...). When I arrived, I was less than impressed with the accomodations but figured I could deal with it for 3 months so I paid my first month's rent of $650 to her personally because that was the only way she accepted payment and went to bed since it was 11:30 pm when I arrived. The room was cold and damp (I actually soaked up liquid in my socks just walking around the room) and smelled as though something was growing in there. The next day, I came to find out that the shared bathroom for the tenants was also shared with her dogs. There was more often than not an incontinence pad with poop and pee on it practically in the middle of the floor in the bathroom which the dogs missed quite often and peed straight on the floor. Also, I had no phone service and no internet access, which she had led me to believe I would have. Being in a long distance relationship, that was not going to work so I told her the next day that I would be finding a different place in town to live. I ended up staying one week and moved out. I realize this was not giving 30 days notice but, after speaking with her, we agreed that I would end up paying the daily fee of $50 a day. At this time, she returned $300 cash to me and wrote me a receipt stating that she would return my $500 depo