• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Landlord liability for basketball hoop?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

courtneygregor

I am a resident of Washington state looking into any potential liability of a landlord for erecting a basketball hoop on the property. There is no place for children to play in the apartment complex and a basketball hoop in the parking lot for the kids would be a welcome enjoyment for the tenants. What happens if a stray basketball hits a car? Or, God forbid, what happens if a kid gets hit by a car? Is there any way to limit landlord liability without putting a 8 foot high brick wall around the hoop? anything that can be put in the lease that will limit liability?

thanks so much for any help...

D

dj1

If there is no place to put a basketball hoop, then chances are the complex was not originally designed for kids..

The liabilty can be expensive, considering the range of low life tenants that are out there...

One tenant may just say.. eh my son broke his leg falling down, while another will scream the landlord is a slumlord for not taking care of the property. and will sue for $1 million dollars.

[Edited by dj1 on 06-18-2001 at 03:30 PM]

C

courtneygregor

question for dj1 (or anyone really)

why would this be any different than the kid rollerblading in the parking lot, falling and getting hurt? would the landlord be liable in that instance also? Is the basketball scenario different because we are condoning and actually creating the activity/risk?

D

dj1

That would make sense, YOU are making an attractive nusicance, where people are supposed to gather...

Rollerblading is your choice...if you hurt yourself.. tough!