• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

landlord threatening to ruin CreditReport for "unpaid utilities" but rent included it

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Sandrabee

landlord threatening to ruin CreditReport for "unpaid utilities" but rent included it

I am a student and was so excitied to get an internship.....I moved rented an apartment in Tennessee where I signed a 3 month lease.

It was a studio apartment where the rent included ALL utilities, such that the rent was $700/month (which is alot in Tennessee).

Specifically, when I signed the lease, there was no information IN the lease with regards to the apartment unit's utilities.

However, for her whole apartment unit everybody pays a flat fee for rent + utilities, including all garbage, water, gas, electricity, sewage, etc (all units look the same, but the longer lease you sign, the cheaper it is per month)

I recently got an email from my landlady a month after I had moved out stating that I owe her X amount of money in unpaid utilities, as apparently, she had said in the email that she had told me earlier that any utilities above $80 I must pay to her directly.

I never signed anything stating that I would pay this amount. It's not in the lease.

I never signed anything with ANY utility company.

Now, she is threatening in her email that she might report me to the credit agencies and give me a "bad credit report" if I don't pay her for those utilties....

1) The only information she has on me is my Driver's license (from CA, albeit), my name, and some checks I wrote to her for the rent/utilties, all inclusive.

She doesn't have my SSN.

Now here are my questions.