• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Landlord is trying to sue me for getting condemned, can he do this?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Procode

I am currently a college student in Albany NY. Me and my 2 friends rent a house from a landlord for 1 year. Last December we had a small party at the house which caused the Police to come. After the Police trashed our house and broke our stove, they also condemned it. Resulting in me being homeless for 2 weeks. Now to un-condemn the house the landlord claims to have spent slightly over $3,000 for inspections and repairs. However the only repairs I seen were the walls being painted which was for no reason at all, as there was nothing wrong with the walls to begin with. He wants a $1,000 from each of us and is now threatening to take us to court this week if we don't pay. Apparently the reason for the house being condemned was beer on the floor and it being messy, which also makes no sense at all. Ok maybe the floor was wet a bit but the same thing happens when you wash it... He also says that his lawyer chargers $250 an hour for his work and whatever the final cost is will also have to be paid by us.

Please help, is he trying to scare us into paying him this money, or is it really possible for him to do all those things to us?

Thank you in advance for your replies!

justalayman

Apparently the reason for the house being condemned was beer on the floor and it being messy, which also makes no sense at all.
You are correct. When you read the order of condemnation from the department of health, come on back and let us know why it was condemned. It makes all the difference in the world in responding to your questions.

Procode