• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Landlord wants oil tank filled

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

cjw60

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Pennsylvania
I have been renting a warehouse for my small business for the past 4 years, and have never been late with a rent payment during that time. I am responsible for all heat, sewer, water, garbage, and electric bills. My landlord needed to replace the oil furnace when we first moved in (June 2004), and in order to see if the new furnace was functioning, he needed to get an oil delivery. He told me he filled the tank, and I said, "thank you". Nothing was said about us having to fill the tank before we leave, and nothing in my lease states that I must fill the tank. Now that I have given notice, the landlord is telling me that I must fill the oil tank before I leave, and that if I don't he will withhold my security deposit. I'm wondering if he has a right to do this? Thank you for any help you can provide.What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

ecmst12

Your lease specifies that you are responsible for heating costs. Common law states an apartment must be left in the same conditionit was found in, less normal wear and tear. You found it with a full tank, you need to return it with a full tank. I don't think you would win this in court.

MIRAKALES

The majority of commercial leases require that tenants are responsible for their own utilities to run their business.