• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

need a fast repsonse adding a boyfriend w/crimnal history to lease

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

K

KK

Need a quick response!!! Adding someone to my lease who has criminal history.

I live in Minnesota. I have been renting from my current landlord for 2 years now. I added my daughter and her boyfriend to my lease about a year ago and my landlord didn't say anything about it. My problem is now that my daughter and her boyfriend have moved out, I want my boyfriend to move in with me. He has been here for 3 weeks. My lease is expiring in June and the landlord brought me a lease extension. I put his name on it and now the landlord wants him to fill out an application. He has a criminal history (not violent or drug related...a burglary charge, that he spent the past 5 years in prison for) The landlord needs him to put down his past 3 years rental history and they want to do a criminal background check. Will they try to evict me if I have him fill this out? Why didn't they ask my daughter's boyfriend to do this when he moved in? I'm scared to tell them because he won't have anywhere to go. He has a full-time job and has straightened out his life. How can I handle this? Should I just tell my landlord, and risk losing my apartment? Please help me??

D

dj1

No he hasnt straightened out his life, NO the landlord will not want an ex con in his building....and YES you should avoid being evicted BY MOVING!

SO THIS IS WHAT YOU CHOOSE FOR A BOYFRIEND........

You will have to live in trailers,dumpy ghetto housing, and find landlords who wont ask questions.