• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Need to kick out roommate - NJ

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? NJ

I have been renting my apartment for a little over 3 years now, the lease has always been in my name. About 2 years ago I had a roommate move in and he has been a problem. He habitually pays his rent late, which causes a late fee to be billed (which I make him pay). On top of that I have caught him many times taking my food, which he always is very sneaky about. As far as utilities he just has phone/internet/cable from Verizon in his name. On paper he can prove that he has been a resident. I recently asked him to leave and he tells me that he has a lawyer on retainer and that he is not leaving. He seems to think that he has some indefinite ability to stay here, even though there is no lease with his name on it. So far I am preparing a 30 day notice to vacate and I will be putting one on his door, sending one regular mail, and sending one certified mail with return receipt. I know that in New Jersey self help evictions are against the law and I believe the only way he can be force-ably removed is through landlord-tenant court. So if he does not move out after the 30 days do I go to landlord-tenant court to get him removed, or do I have to get my landlord involved. I really don't want to get the landlord involved because with all the problems I feel he may get ticked off and just evict the both of us. Oh also, for over 30 days now he has also been behind on his rent, and once again he told me he will be late next month too.

Banned_Princess

no lawyer needed, you can do it yourself.