• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

One tenant leaves, other wants to stay

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

antiduke

I am new to the Landlord-ing scene and have already been dealing with a problem tenant. Her and her husband have been in the house for a month and a half and I was just informed that the husband (who was the primary source of income) has left her. He left his key and a note saying he would not be paying for anything and wants off the lease. It is a 1 year lease.

She has since called me and said that she has a friend that is needing a place and that she would like to move in. I informed her that I would have to approve of this new person. So my questions are: What do I need to do to get the husband off the lease? Do I terminate the current lease and start a new one? Can I just add a person to the new lease?

This girl has been problematic, consistently asking to pay rent late or less amounts - and she has only been here a month and a half - and that was with her husband who made good money. His income was the primary reason I allowed them to move in. I would like to take this opportunity to wash my hands of her altogether but not sure if that is legal for me to do or not.

I have this in my lease regarding Early Termination: