• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

pay rent if moving out, and not on lease?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

abcdefg123

I live in Illinois. I am a college student, and have been living with three other girls in a house. Legally, the house can only have 3 people. I am the 4th. I did not sign a lease, and have never put my name on anything, including utilities bills. I moved in last August '05, and am moving out this May '06 (June 1). My roomates are extremely angry that I gave them last minute notice, and they are threatening and harassing me for the rent money for after I move out. First, they just wanted money for summer months. Now they are stating that I owe them money for another full year. They claim I made a verbal agreement to pay. Now they cl aim they are just mad that they can't find a new roomie, and they claim they have talked to a lawyer and "have documents" to get the money from me. I feel that I am honestly not obligated to pay the money. I am not on a lease, and I am not going to be living there. Can they really do anything to get money from me? I am paying rent for another apartment and have explained that I cannot afford both places. They are being rude, and evil, and mean. They have even called my parents and given personal information regarding relationships, etc just to make me mad so I'll give in and pay. I should not have to pay. I don't feel that I have to pay.

What is your legal opinion?

I have told them that the problem is theres, and they need to find a new person to be a roommate and to pay rent, and to leave me alone. I am not on a lease, and I am moving out. I am paying through June 1 when I am moving out.

Thank you,.

BL