• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Question about eviction law in GA

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

sophist2011

I'm a Georgia resident. I live in Dekalb county specifically. Last week I received a dissposserary(sp?) warrant from the Clerk's office. I contacted my landlord, and she's agreed that if I pay the rent + late fees + court fees the eviction process will stop. However, my landlord has now informed me that since they closed their February books yesterday, I now must pay the February rent, February late fees, and court fees plus March's rent. I have the money to pay for February's rent, late fees, and court fees. I also missed my answer in court because I was under the impression that I would have the funds to pay the rent, late fees, and court fees. So I didn't show in court. I called the Clerk's office, they informed me I have about a week before my stuff ends up on the streets. I have offered to pay February rent, late fees, and court fees, but the landlord says I must pay it all at once now, and won't accept just February and the related fees. The dissposserarry warrent just has February's rent on it. From what I have read, this is my first eviction, and with accordance to GA law, shouldn't the landlord take my check, and allow me to pay March rent when it becomes March?

What should I do?What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Gail in Georgia

Georgia does allow a tenant to do a "settlement" to avoid an eviction but it must be done within 7 days of receiving the summons. This can only be done once in a 12 month period:

EVICTIONS AND DISPOSSESSIONS