• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Rent Late/Landlord Harrassment - Is This Legal? Pennsylvania

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mmmeghan

Since September of 2006, I have rented an apartment with little to no complaints. I am a student, and I also have a co-signer on the lease. The landlord - who is not the owner but is apparently "entrusted" by the owner to maintain the property - also lived in the building, which is a converted row home. I always paid rent on time and never caused any problems, and felt my landlord was eccentric but whatever. I assumed maybe he was just more involved than previous faceless management companies I had rented from.

In 2007, I encountered some problems with my student loans which were paying my rent and my disbursement dates for payment were now off by a few days. He was aware that I paid my rent through said student loans. For the first time ever, my March 2007 rent was late, according to my lease which does not give me a grace period - it merely states rent is due by the 1st of each month. (Often, in the days leading up to the 1st of any month, my landlord would seemingly go out of his way to ask me when rent would be due.) As I was leaving on the morning of the 5th to go to work and to the bank to get rent, my landlord opened his door as I was passing by as if he had been waiting for me all day. He stated that I would have to have a money order for the $700 rent by that evening or a check for $725. My lease does not assign a late fee, and I was confused by this new $25 fee. I paid with a money order that evening.