• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Request for Ideas in Taking Action Against Previous Landlord

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

mmcdonne

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Iowa

I am currently a student living in Iowa City and last year, I rented a house from a landlord who owned a myriad of properties in the area. My experiences while living in this house were horrific; apparently, other students who have rented from this specific landlord have encountered similar problems and wish to voice their concerns to anyone who will listen.

This landlord failed to take action after several of my attempts of reaching him via email and telephone due to:
1. an infestation of ****roaches and centipedes in the basement
2. remaining paint, tools, etc. left behind in the living room for 5 months after repair crews worked on the exterior of the house
3. a handful of much needed repairs that were recorded by the tenants in a document requested to be filled out at the beginning of the lease
4. a contamination of highly dangerous black spot mold growing in the bedroom of one of the tenants

Looking back, I sincerely regret not taking action sooner against what I endured in my process of renting this property. Does anyone know of anywhere (specifically in Iowa City or Iowa) that I could go to possibly report this landlord and (hopefully) raise awareness about his lack of concern and poor conduct? Will any action taken against this man outside of legal action make any impact? I have been told that fighting landlords in college towns (especially in Iowa City) prove usually futile.
Thank you all very much!

Hot Topic