• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Responses

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

johnwells807

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I have been comming to this site for over 5 years. I appreciate the advice, but I would caution people who reply to please indicate if they are an attorney or just a lay person who thinks they know the law. I l,ike many people have serious legal issues or questions and it is not helpful for people to offer advise and be WRONG. In response to my question a senior member said I could not legally withold rent yet the applicable law CLEARLY states that a meterial breach of ANY codes,housing laws, etc, EXCEPT FOR VERY SPECIFIC SITUATIONS ,WERE GROUNDS TO WITHOLD RENT PROVIDED THAT THE LANDLORD IS GIVEN SEVEN DAYS WRITTEN NOTICE. Please do not offer wrong advice unless you preface it with something to let one know it is your opinion and not necessarily the law

Last edited:

Cvillecpm

John - the site is FREE - you are getting what you pay for.

We have NOT SEEN your lease, KNOW of the defects you claim OR have the back-story with you and your landlord....BEFORE you RISK getting evicted, have an attorney REVIEW your situation - even if you have to PAY FOR IT.

Alaska landlord

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? FloridaI could not legally withold rent yet the applicable law CLEARLY states that a meterial breach of ANY codes,housing laws, etc, EXCEPT FOR VERY SPECIFIC SITUATIONS ,WERE GROUNDS TO WITHOLD RENT PROVIDED THAT THE LANDLORD IS GIVEN SEVEN DAYS WRITTEN NOTICE. Please do not offer wrong advice unless you preface it with something to let one know it is your opinion and not necessarily the law