• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Rights after death of auto loan cosigner?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

A

ArlynB

What is the name of your state? California

I have been making payments on an Credit Union auto loan for 3-1/2 years which required I have a co-signer. My co-signer died recently. Her daughter survives her. The daughter lives in Florida. Unsure if she is aware of this loan as I have not heard anything from her. I am still making payments but would like to trade in my vehicle to a lot that will not require a co-signer; or sell it outright. Can I do that without involving the surviving daughter? Credit Union is not aware of the death of the co-signer. Am I obligated to tell them? Thank you.

I AM ALWAYS LIABLE

ArlynB said:
What is the name of your state? California

I have been making payments on an Credit Union auto loan for 3-1/2 years which required I have a co-signer. My co-signer died recently. Her daughter survives her. The daughter lives in Florida. Unsure if she is aware of this loan as I have not heard anything from her. I am still making payments but would like to trade in my vehicle to a lot that will not require a co-signer; or sell it outright. Can I do that without involving the surviving daughter? Credit Union is not aware of the death of the co-signer. Am I obligated to tell them? Thank you.

My response:

If you can tell me what this has to do with "landlord / tenant" law, and why you needed to post this 3 times on these forums, I'll answer your questions.

Make you answers "good ones".

IAAL

A

ArlynB