• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Should I pay the full rental amount?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

C

cowgirl7505

I have been renting a house for the past 9 months. On February 25, 2002 my water pipes busted under the house so I called the landlord. It took her a week to responde. After calling the plumbers it was another week before they came to fix the problem. I was informed by the plumber that they would have to repipe the whole house because all the pipes were bad. I went a month without running water in my house. I have four kids and had to travel all over town to different friends houses to bath the kids. Couldn't bath, wash dishes, wash clothes ....etc. for a month. When the plumbing was finally fixed I found that the plumbers has broken the gas line under the house. Then I went a week and a half without water or gas. The gas company came and took the gas meter and it cost me $50.00 to get it back and have the gas turned on due to them having to reinstall it. I also got a $75.00 water bill for the month I didn't even have water (the bill was from the leak of the broken pipe). Yet the landlord still wants $600.00 for the full amount of rent. Do I have to pay the full amount or can some be deducted for the re-installation of the gas meter, $75.00 for the water I didn't use, and some for being without hot or cold water for over a month?

R

retertoooo

why do you people forget the MOST important part?

DO YOU HAVE A LEASE?

IF you do then you possibly could withold part of the rent....If you do it right.

With NO LEASE you are pretty much out of luck, cause the landlord can give you a 30 day notice to get out!