• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Still Desperately....

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

klyncher

What is the name of your state?What is the name of your state?RI
I am having issues with my 2nd fl. tenants who I am not sure are simple minded or taking advantage of me, knowing I'm not too experienced as a landlord.They took the apt unaware they had to pay for their own heating(they moved from NYC). I shopped for the best oil rate for them (they dont speak english too well),gave them written instructions,etc. They were upset about paying for their heat,especially for oil heating. Then, they argued that the 50 yrs+ boiler needed repair/replaced due to inefficiency( which we never disputed), however they also claim that they're ordering too much oil monthly which I also agree, the question is how much more are they overpaying and how much should I help to compensate and what are my obligations as a landlord with minimal means. I lived it that same unit for a year and didnt change the boiler because we couldnt afford it and still cant.