• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

"Vandalism by Suspect(s) Unknown"

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

K

Kent168

Hi everyone,
I'm new here. I am in an apartment in Los Angeles, California. The landlord here have been everything but helpful in these past few months that we've been living here. I'm a college student living with 3 other roommates. Last night somebody broke our sliding window. Unfortunately we didn't get to see who it was that did it. We filed a police report and the official report says that this is caused by "Vandalism by Suspect(s) Unknown". When we finally talked with our manager tonight, he accused us of breaking the window and then tell us to pay for it ourselves. I am wondering if what he is doing is legal? The still broken window is a pretty dangerous thing to have around since most of the glass shards are still hanging on the window, and they vibrate with the wind. Is the landlord responsible for fixing this result caused by an act of vandalism? Or are we responsible for it ourselves? Thanks.

L

LL

No one will believe that you didn't break the window yourself.

Have the window fixed and pay for it.

K

Kent168

LL, are you saying this because you're a landlord? =)

L

LL

No, I'm saying it based on my experience, including in court.

I have been through this experience more than once. I take the initiative, have the window fixed myself, and pay for it, bill the tenant including deducting from the security deposit when necessary including charging for my time to find workers and supervise them. I have defended against challenges in Small Claims court and won every time, without effort.