• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

verbal abuse and harrasment by landlord

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

patricknobel

What is the name of your state? New York

To cut a long story short..
I am new to US and moved into this basement with my wife and 2 kids one 5 yr and other 1 year, later i found out it is an illegal basement,

The land lady is lunatic i believe she abused us in foul language, jumps on top of the bed room when kids are sleeping, calls us 911 in fact they called them up 5 times saying that we are triping of electricity nothing was true last sunday at midnight we caught her sneeking into the house (they have a entrance from their house) she immediatly called 911 saying that there was smoke in our house that fdny arrived to find it was a false alarm, sahe has turned of heat and we are with no heat my babby was sick and addmitted in hospital, they don't give us our mail, they walk into the house when we are not there and throw things around, they reported us with ACS saying that we are drug and alcohol abusers we had to go for a test which came out negative.

I came to know that she had done the samething with the previous family as well
I am steeming can any one pls advise what to do i have a court order allowing us to stay in this place till 31 jan before which i don't want to move out.

Shay-Pari'e

Since you don't want to move out, what more do you want? How is it you got a *Court Order* to stay in a illegal basement?

Let her know you are moving out on Jan 31 and that you expect her to act civil in the meantime. Let her know that if she enters the property you will have her arrested.

patricknobel