• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Worried about landlord and damage

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

SampsonF

I live in Washington State and I've been renting a house for the past 6 years. When I moved in, the carpet was in poor condition (stains), three of the windows did not open, the oil furnace is smelly, and there is bad ventilation in the bathroom that encourages mold growth (I'm always cleaning it). The ventilation in the kitchen is bad so there is some rust now on the refrigerator. They have not checked in with me for over 3 years and I have not contacted them out of fear.

When I moved in, the landlord made notations of the problems, but she never provided me with a copy. I am worried that when I move out, they will try and make me pay for the preexisting damage and the general wear and tear.

My question is, will renters insurance protect me from any damage claims that the landlord makes against me? If I have lived in the residence for over 6 years, is general wear and tear prorated (carpet/oven/fridge/paint) if they do try and get me to pay?

LdiJ

I live in Washington State and I've been renting a house for the past 6 years. When I moved in, the carpet was in poor condition (stains), three of the windows did not open, the oil furnace is smelly, and there is bad ventilation in the bathroom that encourages mold growth (I'm always cleaning it). The ventilation in the kitchen is bad so there is some rust now on the refrigerator. They have not checked in with me for over 3 years and I have not contacted them out of fear.