• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Asking for another retainer?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Forbana

What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)? Florida

I have a basic ethics question, I have retained my lawyer for a divorce/custody case. Since, she has filed the petition and has started the process. I am not being allowed to speak with my son and I asked her today if we could file an emergency motion with the court. She then told me that we could, but would require another non-refundable retainer that is equal to about 8 hours of billable hours. In honesty, and remember I am not a lawyer, I could not imagine drafting the motion and the (maybe) hour in court (including drive time, etc.) would be over 3-4 hours.

My question is this, is this ethical? Should I have to "retain" her a second time to file a motion on a case she is already retained on and, which I consider, part of the reason she is my lawyer? Should she be working on the case that I have hired her for or should I expect any (reasonable) motion should be filed with the time deducted from the large retainer I already paid?

This is the first time I have really dealt with a lawyer, so I really do not know what to expect. If this does bring up some ethical concerns, what is my course of action? I would not want to "upset" her and have her drop me as a client and keep the non-refundable retainer I already paid.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!What is the name of your state (only U.S. law)?

Forbana