• FreeAdvice has a new Terms of Service and Privacy Policy, effective May 25, 2018.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our Terms of Service and use of cookies.

Can a lawyer keep your retainer if he does nothing & could have cost you your case?!?

Accident - Bankruptcy - Criminal Law / DUI - Business - Consumer - Employment - Family - Immigration - Real Estate - Tax - Traffic - Wills   Please click a topic or scroll down for more.

Dani808

Can a lawyer keep your retainer if he does nothing & could have cost you your case?!?

An attorney (HAWAII) offered to take my case on contingency with a $2500 retainer and he would get 40% of the settlement. As a former paralegal, my files are immaculate and already put together for an attorney. I met him for lunch to discuss the case and was impressed as he seemed to get it and seemed excited at how good my case was so I signed the attorney client agreement. I provided him with the nice file complete with indexing, because I know he is a one man operation and doesn't have full time staff (if at all). I had record of everything and already had all the research, filed complaints with the appropriate consumer and governing boards, already made first contact and attempted to settle with mediation through those governing boards. I offered to help him administratively to keep the costs down and move the case along. He asked me to enter everything into case soft. We talked briefly about what his plan was which was to review the file and get a demand letter out since there was a deadline per the contract I signed with the person I was suing that said I had to sue within a certain period of time. He told me he would send me a copy of the attorney client contract and we would meet in a couple of weeks for a more proper meeting since we really didn't go through too much detail. I gave him $500 which he said was for the demand letter and he said I could pay him the rest in payments if we went to court. After that fir